This is an indie project all the way! It’s been a community centered effort fueled by passion and funded by grant programs and individual donors who believe in the film as much as we do. We need your help in order to get to the finish line.

I’ve worked tirelessly with a team of award-winning artists and supporters in order to bring this film to audiences. It’s my love letter to the pioneers who sacrificed and endured—paving the way for the next generation. And you can be a part of it.
— Maya Washington, Director/Producer

Individual donations help with post-production costs (editing, licensing, color correction, sound design, music, finishing costs). 

Through the Banks of the Red Cedar is a sponsored project of Fractured Atlas, a non-profit arts service organization. Contributions for the charitable purposes of Through the Banks of the Red Cedar must be made payable to “Fractured Atlas” only and are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

50 for 50 

We're celebrating how far college and pro football have come in the past 50 years. For your donation of $50 or more, you will receive an autographed photo* of Vikings and Michigan State football legend Gene Washington in gratitude for your support!

*The value of the autographed photo is $25. Any contribution above that amount is tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law. 

If you do not wish to receive a photo, select "no photo please" and your gift will be tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.


You can also give by Check







Fractured Atlas (Fiscal Sponsorship)

Jerome Foundation

Minnesota Film and TV Legacy Arts and Cultural Heritage (LACH) Production Reimbursement Program

Minnesota State Arts Board


3M Gives

Whole Foods Market Minnetonka

Laura & Harvey Alpert Charitable Foundation

Shelmina Babai Abji

Shane & Lee Ann Bullough

Kari & Chris Durham

Greg Edwards

Dave & Kathy Elliott

Vincent & Georgette Harris

Beatrice Idema

Steven Johnson

Don & Carol Knutson

Don Moorer

Craig Murray

James Nelson

Patrick & Janet Scheetz

Gene & Claudith Washington

Maya Washington

L. Lamar Wilson




An Intergenerational Conversation

This generation is as enthusiastic about our project as their parents and grandparents. So much so that we've begun engaging young audiences with the inspiring story of Gene Washington and his teammates who left the segregated South to attend MSU and pursue a better life through athletics and education. In this global age where scandals and million dollar salaries dominate media attention, we are offering a rare glimpse into the lives of early pioneers of the game, their sacrifices, and tremendous achievements.

We've built a network of Community Partners and have Corporate Sponsorship opportunities as well.


1) Make check payable to: "Fractured Atlas"

(Include "Through the Banks of the Red Cedar" in the Memo line.) 

2) Mail To:

     Through the Banks of the Red Cedar

P.O. BOX 47102
Plymouth, MN 55447


PLEASE NOTE: If you're sending a check for $1,000 or more, send us an email and we'll send you some additional instructions for processing your donation:


Maya Washington is a fiscal year 2013 Recipient of an Artist Initiative Grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board.  This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation by the Minnesota State Legislature and by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

This project has been made possible by the Legacy Amendment’s Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund through the vote of Minnesotans on November 4, 2008. Administered by the Minnesota Historical Society.



Dave Winder & Laurie Sommers

Corey & Mandy Sperstad

Sr. Carol Spiegel

Linda Staelgraeve

Michael Steindler

Simone Stewart

Leslie Stokes

Sam C. Supernaw, Sr.

Thomas Sutphen

David Techlin

Cassidy Titcomb

Julie Titcombe

Karen & Connie Townsend

John Ursu

Darrell C. Vanfleet

Patrick Vaughan

Portia Vescio

Philip P. & E. Joyce Versluis

Kim Viculin

Steven Villanueva

Ryan Volovlek

Mark Walchak

Alma Walker

Edward & Teresa Walker

Carol Welch

Jacklyn E. West

Jerry & Patricia West

Robert West

Mark White

Michelle Whittaker

Matthew Wilcox

Benny Williams

Joel Williams

Jim & Carol Wilson

Jim Wilson

Lee Winslow

Eric Zemper

Anonymous (30) 

Etta Abrahams

Bruce Alexander

Robert Alpiner

G Donald Alston

Sterling Armstrong

Lucy Backman

Geoffrey Baltzer

Lyndon & Janine Barrois

Sheri Barwig

Carolyn Bell

Ted Bertrand

Kenneth Birnbaum

Ed & Mary Bock

Brady Boyce

Bob & Sue Briese

Jeff Brusak

Aimee K. Bryant

Anna-Marie Byrne

Steven Byrne

Lance & Mary Butner

James Campbell

Das Campbell

Vincent & Lucy Carillot

Brad Carlson

Charles & Sara Carpenter

Ian Chestnut

Jim Chetrick

Gregory Coccia

Steve Coley

James Cotter

Piper Cumbo

Helen Dahlman

Ray Davis

Daniel & Judith Dickinson

Bill & Jane Dittmore

Helen Dove-Jones

Charles Downs

Robert Drazin

Ronald Duecker

Timothy & Joanne Dunningan

Jim Earley

Mike & Michele Ebow

Lillian Edwards

Lazaro Falcon

James Forkner

Roger Francis

Dick Freeland

Nicholas Thines & Barbara Frey

John Fuzak

Jonterri Gadson

Richard & Christine Garlick

Cynthia Ghering

Bill Giddings

Cheryl Gilliam

Steven Goldschein

David Gonyea

Janelle Gonyea

Justin & Jermeshia Goudeau

Mark Gragg

Janet & Charles Guenther

Parker Brown & Mallory Harbitz

Jeanne D. Harding

Kenneth Harned

Richard Hartwick

Alisa & Genevieve Healy

Amy Heisler

Arlena Dudley Hines Asid

Rodney & Freda Hobbs

Nathan & Donna Jackson

James A. Johnson

Jerry & Sandra Johnson

David Kapolka


Sharon Kaster

Terry & Kathy Kelly

Eugene Klco

Seth Kochera

Phillip Krause

David & Sandra Ladd

Harold & Mae Lance

Sherm & Toni Lewis

Adrienne Lance Lucas

Nicole LaPoint

Ron Langley

Mary Layton

Carol Lee

James Lee

Gary & Patricia Lee

Rita Lewis

Camilla D. Liebold

Donald Lindgren

Ming Ma

William Macdonald

Daniel Mackey

Lynn Makay

Kevin Markham

Kyla Marshell

Matt Maunu

Beth Mayer

Paul McCarrick

Mary Ann McDonald

Edmond & Donna McGarrell

Derek McKim

Barbara D. McMillan

Herschel McPherson

Hannah Meiklejohn

Bruce Miller

Armando & Erlinda Mojica

 Jetuan Moore

 Staci Moosher

 John Mullen

 Bill Nash

 Kathleen Nelson

 Bruce Nielsen

 Betty Ezell Nixon

 William Ogden

 Ernie & Micki Pasteur

 Joseph & Laura Patrick

Judith B. Paxton

 Thomas Pelissero

 Jeffery Pepper

 Patrick Race

 Gregory Reed

 Dean Reid

 Hal Richard

Karl Ritchey

Ronald Schultz

Michael & Elaine Serling

Amber Sharp

Steve & Debbie Shaw

Patrick & Janet Scheetz

Ruth Sedei

Warren Singleton

Tina Simms

James Simon

Susan Simons

Joseph Warren Singleton

Jerry Sisk

Brian J. Smith

Kareem Smith

Dr. Marion J. Smith

Richard L. Smith

Roxanne & Gerry Smith

Chad Smolinkski

Bill & Julie Snyder










Copyright Through the Banks of the Red Cedar, 2017